From the Stacks

From the Stacks: Green Bullfrog

green bullfrogThis is a cool little oddity for the Rainbow/Deep Purple fans. Basically it’s a 1970 supergroup album with all of the artists performing under pseudonyms. Here’s the roster:

  • Albert Lee = Pinta
  • Matthew Fisher = Sorry
  • Ian Paice = Speedy
  • Tony Ashton = Bevy
  • Rod Alexander = Vicar
  • Chas Hodges = Sleepy
  • Earl Jordan = Jordan
  • Big Jim Sullivan = Boss
  • Ritchie Blackmore= Boots

It was originally published in 1972, but my copy is the 1980 reprint. The big draw for Purple fans is the cut “Bullfrog,” which is a reworking of “Jam Stew:”

Prices on this one are all over the place. You might find one for five bucks, or you might find one for fifty. If you’re collecting, try to get that 1972 copy on the Decca label. Happy hunting.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.